I’ve have tangled and lost with learning xml, html and python in the past when I was at school. The process of learning how to learn a programming language doesn’t seem to be compatible with my brain.

When I was studying GIS we had to learn python, our instructor while familiar with python wasn’t a developer. The class was working out a book and just trying every combination until the process would run. I was lucky to sit near a friend who had experience in development and he really did help me limp through the course. It wasn’t a positive experience and I really didn’t enjoy the process.

A few years later I got hired as a GIS web administrator…I didn’t and still don’t know how to code! But over time I was able to learn how to read enough of the code to do the tweaks I needed. I learned enough about the ESRI javascript api to feel comfortable restarting the web development learning process.

In the last week I have started on freecodecamp, it’s easy enough to figure out and the steps for learning aren’t too bad. But getting stuck on a css paragraph class sucks šŸ˜¦

Let’s see if I stick with it, might help me get back into a remote work position again!

Leave a comment